Pray to Play: The Termination of Beckie Francis

Oakland University was founded in 1957 as a satellite school to Michigan State University. The university was originally named Michigan State University – Oakland. The school was renamed Oakland University in 1963 and is a public institution. In 1970, the university was granted autonomy from Michigan State and became independent. Oakland has an approximate enrollment of 19,740 students, has 139 baccalaureate degree programs and 125 graduate degree and certificate programs. Oakland's motto is "Seek virtue and knowledge." Oakland athletics participate at the Division I level. Previously known as the Pioneers, the teams now are known as the Golden Grizzlies. Oakland was part of the Summit League from 1998 to 2013. In September 2013 it was announced that Oakland was moving to the Horizon League.